Department of Mathematics
UChicago logo

Adrian Albert Lectures in Algebra

The Albert Lectures are the oldest of the five lecture series. They are named after Abraham Adrian Albert (1905-1972), who received his Ph.D from Chicago in 1928, under the supervision of L.E. Dickson. Albert later returned to Chicago as a member of the faculty, and served for a time as chair of the department and President of the AMS.

2017 Speaker: Gerd Faltings (Planck Institute)

Lecture 1: Eckhart 206 Tuesday November 7, 4:30pm to 5:30pm

Abstract: Arakelov geometry on curves, intersection numbers, Riemann-Roch, Hodge index theorem, positivity of omega squared (after Ullmo and Zhang).

Lecture 2: Eckhart 206 Wednesday November 8, 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Abstract: Higher dimensions, secondary classes, Riemann-Roch.

Lecture 3: Eckhart 206 Thursday November 9, 4:30pm to 5:30pm

Abstract: Asymptotic behaviour under degeneration of curves, delta invariant. The first two lectures are classical, the third treats recent work.

Past Albert Lecturers include: Nathan Jacobson, Michael Atiyah, John Milnor, Jürgen Moser, Enrico Bombieri, Shing-Shen Chern, Dennis Sullivan, H. Jerome Keisler, Barry Mazur, John Griggs Thompson, William Fulton, Armand Borel, Joe Harris, Benedict Gross, J.P. Serre, Andrei Suslin, Efim Zelmanov, Karl Rubin, Phillip Griffiths, Jacques Tits, Richard Swan, Michael Artin, Jeremy Rickard, Carlos Simpson, Maxim Kontsevich, Richard Taylor, Michel Broué, Don Zagier, Alexander Merkurjev, Andrei Okounkov, Claire Voisin, Raphaël Rouquier, Jacob Lurie, Peter Sarnak, and Spencer Bloch.