Graduate Research Awards


  • William Rainey Harper Dissertation Fellowship: This is the highest honor that the University of Chicago offers to any graduate student. The fellowship is awarded in the final year of graduate study to help the student concentrate on thesis completion.
  • Highbridge Prize: This is awarded for the best preprint by a graduate student.
  • Kowalsky Fellowship: The Kowalsky Fellowship provides support for a graduate student, preferably a woman, who is doing excellent research towards her dissertation. The award is established through a bequest from Walter and Yvonne Kowalsky in memory of their daughter Nadine Kowalsky, who died of leukemia in 1996. Nadine graduated from the University of Chicago in 1994 with a dissertation directed by Robert Zimmer.
  • Wirszup Fellowship: The Wirszup fellowship was established in 2012 in memory of Izaak Wirszup, a beloved member of our department and of the university community for many years, who had worked tirelessly towards improving the quality of Mathematics education over the decades.
  • Other awards that graduate students have received including National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowships, National Science Foundation Post-Doc Fellowships, and Clay Liftoff fellowships.

2012-2013 Academic Year

2011-2012 Academic Year

2010-2011 Academic Year

  • William Rainey Harper Dissertation Fellowship: Tom Church.

2008-2009 Academic Year

  • Highbridge Prize (for best preprint): Swarnendu Datta received the award. Damir Dzhafarov was the runner-up.
  • Kowalsky Fellowships: Elizabeth Townsend Beazley and Rachel Epstein.

2007-2008 Academic Year

  • AIM Fellowship (five-year): Travis Schedler.
  • Clay Liftoff Fellowship: Qendrim Gashi, Irene Peng and Travis Schedler.